By Ajwah Malik · July 7, 2026
Key takeaways
- Personal injury lead costs range from $20-$100 for organic SEO to $300-$1,500+ for TV, radio and billboard (Rankings.io 2026).
- Shared leads convert at 2-5% and exclusive live-transfer leads at 20%, so a $100 shared lead at 3% costs $3,333 per signed case while a $400 live transfer costs $2,000.
- Local Services Ads show the best published cost per case: $240 per personal injury lead at about a 25% conversion rate, or roughly $960 per retained case (OptimizeMyFirm).
- One 2026 analysis puts Google Ads at $442 per lead against $183 for SEO, a 142% difference for the same signed-case outcome.
- At $442 per lead, moving intake from a 7% to a 20% lead-to-case rate cuts media cost per signed case from $6,314 to $2,210.
- Only 7% of personal injury leads ever set a consultation, and about 70% of legal leads never reach a retainer.
Personal injury lead costs vary by more than 20x depending on where the lead comes from: roughly $20 to $100 for organic search, $80 to $250 for Local Services Ads, $50 to $150 for purchased shared leads, $250 to $600 or more for exclusive and live-transfer leads, and $300 to $1,500 or more for TV, radio and billboard (Rankings.io, 2026). Paid search sits high in that spread, with one 2026 analysis putting Google Ads at $442 per lead against $183 for SEO (LEXGRO via Web Tonic).
Here is the part most channel comparisons skip. A cost per lead with no conversion rate attached to it is not a number you can make a decision with. Shared leads convert to signed cases at 2% to 5%. Exclusive live-transfer leads convert at 20% (Rankings.io). The cheap lead is usually the expensive one.
The master table: personal injury cost per lead by channel
| Channel | Cost per lead | Lead-to-case conversion | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Organic SEO | $20-$100 | Varies widely by page intent | Rankings.io 2026 |
| SEO, blended agency-reported | $183 | Not reported | LEXGRO 2026 |
| Purchased shared leads | $50-$150 | 2-5% | Rankings.io 2026 |
| Local Services Ads | $80-$250 | About 25%, or 1 in 4 | Rankings.io 2026 |
| Local Services Ads, PI specific | $240 national average, $140-$344 by state | About 25% | OptimizeMyFirm |
| Google Ads, blended agency-reported | $442 | Not reported | LEXGRO 2026 |
| Exclusive and live-transfer leads | $250-$600+ | 20% | Rankings.io 2026 |
| TV, radio, billboard | $300-$1,500+ | Not reported | Rankings.io 2026 |
| All paid channels, 13-firm average | $284 across $3.3M of Google Ads and LSA spend | 7% used as the model rate | Rankings.io 2026 |
Two figures in that table deserve a flag. The state range on Local Services Ads runs from $140 in Kentucky to $344 in Louisiana, which is a 146% spread on the same product. And the $442 Google Ads figure against $183 for SEO is a single agency's blended reporting, not an industry census, so treat it as directional.
Cost per lead is meaningless without the conversion rate attached
This is the argument the market keeps missing. A firm shopping on cost per lead is optimizing the wrong variable, because the number that pays the bills is cost per signed case.
Only 7% of personal injury leads ever set a consultation (MyCase 2024 Legal Industry Benchmark Report via Rankings.io). Roughly 70% of legal leads never reach a retainer, leaving about 30% lead-to-signed at the healthy end of the distribution (Mohr Marketing). Whatever your number is, it is the multiplier on every dollar of media you spend.
Take a $100 shared lead converting at 3%. That is $3,333 of media per signed case, because $100 divided by 0.03 is $3,333. Now take a $400 live-transfer lead converting at 20%. That is $2,000 per signed case. The lead that costs four times as much produces a signed case for 40% less.
Anyone selling you a $50 lead is selling a number that means nothing on its own. Ask what happens after the lead arrives, and get the answer in writing.
Blended cost per signed case, channel by channel
The table below applies published conversion rates to published lead costs. Where a channel has no published conversion rate, we model at 7% because that is the rate Rankings.io uses in its own cost-per-case work. Every figure is division you can check.
| Channel | Lead cost used | Conversion rate used | Media cost per signed case | The arithmetic |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Purchased shared, best case | $50 | 5% | $1,000 | 50 divided by 0.05 |
| Purchased shared, midpoint | $100 | 3.5% | $2,857 | 100 divided by 0.035 |
| Purchased shared, worst case | $150 | 2% | $7,500 | 150 divided by 0.02 |
| Exclusive live transfer, low | $250 | 20% | $1,250 | 250 divided by 0.20 |
| Exclusive live transfer, high | $600 | 20% | $3,000 | 600 divided by 0.20 |
| Local Services Ads | $240 | 25% | $960 | OptimizeMyFirm publishes this figure directly |
| Organic SEO, range midpoint | $60 | 7% | $857 | 60 divided by 0.07 |
| SEO, blended reported | $183 | 7% | $2,614 | 183 divided by 0.07 |
| Google Ads, blended reported | $442 | 7% | $6,314 | 442 divided by 0.07 |
| Google Ads at strong intake | $442 | 20% | $2,210 | 442 divided by 0.20 |
| TV, radio, billboard, low end | $300 | 7% | $4,286 | 300 divided by 0.07 |
Read the shared-lead rows against the live-transfer rows. A $50 lead at a 2% conversion rate costs $2,500 per case, more than a $400 lead at 20%. Cheap leads are only cheap if someone answers them well, fast, and at volume.
Read the last two Google Ads rows against each other as well. Same media cost, same channel, same market. The only variable is intake, and it moves cost per signed case by $4,104. That is the whole thesis of personal injury marketing done properly: the lever is conversion, not budget.
A note on the $468 figure and the $2,000-$5,000 figure
Rankings.io publishes a $284 average cost per lead across 13 firms and $3.3M of Google Ads and LSA spend, and a $468 cost per signed case at a 7% lead-to-case rate. Those two numbers are not simple division: $284 divided by 0.07 is $4,057, not $468.
Mohr Marketing publishes a $2,000 to $5,000 range for cost per signed case, but does not publish a methodology behind it. The likely explanation for the gap is definitional. Media-only cost per case, cost including agency fees, and fully-loaded cost including intake salaries, software and overhead are three different numbers, and the industry uses one label for all three. When you compare your firm against any published benchmark, ask which of the three it is. Our cost per case benchmarks piece breaks that apart in detail.
Purchased leads: shared versus exclusive
Shared leads
Shared leads are sold to three, four, sometimes six firms at once. That is why they cost $50 to $150 and why they convert at 2% to 5%. You are not buying a client, you are buying a place in a race, and the race is decided in minutes. Contacting a lead within five minutes makes a firm 100 times more likely to connect (Harvard Business Review research via Rankings.io).
If your intake team cannot dial within 60 seconds, every hour of every day including weekends, shared leads will lose you money at any price. That is an operational prerequisite, not a preference.
Exclusive and live-transfer leads
Exclusive leads are sold to one firm. Live transfers arrive as a warm phone call with a person already on the line. At $250 to $600 or more, with a 20% conversion rate, the arithmetic works out to $1,250 to $3,000 in media per signed case, which is competitive with most other channels.
The catch is verification. Exclusive is a claim, not a guarantee, and some vendors sell an exclusive lead in your market and the same claimant's information into an adjacent one. Contract language matters here more than price does.
The quality and ethics problem
Purchased leads carry real risk beyond the money. Some vendor traffic comes from ad creative your firm never approved and would not approve, some from sites making implicit promises about case outcomes, and some from call centers whose scripts blur the line between information gathering and solicitation. Your state bar rules on solicitation and on advertising by non-lawyer intermediaries apply to the vendor acting on your behalf, and enforcement lands on the firm, not the vendor.
Beyond compliance, there is the claimant experience. A person who has just been hurt and fills in one form, then gets called by six firms in ten minutes, has a bad impression of every one of them. That reputational cost does not show up on any cost-per-lead report.
Questions to ask before you sign with a lead vendor
- Is this lead exclusive, and what does the contract pay me if it is not?
- What is the exact source of the traffic, by URL, and can I see the ad creative?
- What is your documented lead-to-retainer rate with firms of my size in my market?
- How many other firms in my metro are receiving leads from this campaign?
- What is the return and credit policy for wrong practice area, wrong state, and no injury?
- Do you use call centers, and can I hear five recordings from the last 30 days?
- Is the lead pre-qualified on statute of limitations, treatment status and liability?
- Can I run a 60-day test at low volume before committing to a monthly minimum?
- Who owns the lead data, and what happens to it if I cancel?
- Will you provide a weekly export I can match against my case management system?
If a vendor cannot answer the first three cleanly, the rest of the conversation is not worth having.
Local Services Ads: the best cost per case in the table
Local Services Ads price per lead rather than per click, which caps your downside in a way paid search never does. For personal injury, the national average is $240 per undisputed lead, ranging from $140 to $344 by state, with roughly 25% converting to clients, producing about $960 per retained case (OptimizeMyFirm).
That is the strongest published cost-per-case figure of any channel here. The constraints are real, though. You need Google Screened status, volume is capped by your service area and your review profile, and disputes over unqualified leads take administrative time every month. Most firms should run Local Services Ads alongside search rather than instead of it.
Organic SEO: cheapest per lead, longest runway
At $20 to $100 per lead, organic search is the cheapest acquisition in the table on a marginal basis, and the economics improve every month a page keeps ranking. Position matters enormously: the top organic result takes 39.8% of clicks, position two 18.7%, position three 10.2%, and position ten 1.6% (First Page Sage, May 2025). Map pack positions run 17.6%, 15.4% and 15.1% for the top three.
The honest caveats: those per-lead figures exclude the 6 to 12 months of investment before the first lead arrives, and organic traffic converts at 3.0% on law firm sites against 4.3% for paid search (Ruler Analytics 2025 via Andava). SEO is the channel that gets cheaper with time and the channel that cannot be turned on this quarter. Both statements are true, which is why law firm SEO belongs in the mix early rather than as a later addition.
Google Ads: fastest leads, highest media cost
Paid search is the only channel that produces qualified injury calls the week you start. It also carries the highest click prices of any industry, at a $9.87 average CPC for legal services and a $131.63 average cost per lead. The full breakdown sits in our personal injury Google Ads cost analysis.
Whether it is worth $442 a lead depends entirely on the conversion rate behind it, as the blended table shows. At 7%, paid search is the most expensive channel here. At 20%, it beats purchased exclusive leads. Same spend, different operation.
TV, radio and billboard
Offline is not dead, it is concentrated. US legal advertising spend reached $2,642,490,197 in 2024, up 116% from $1.225bn in 2017, with $851,005,476 of that in spot TV (American Tort Reform Association, March 2025). Morgan and Morgan alone spent $218,208,800.
At $300 to $1,500 or more per lead and a 30-second spot costing $500 to $5,000 (Taqtics, 2026), broadcast is a brand channel with a lead cost attached, not a performance channel. Broadcast runs about a $15 CPM, but at roughly 20% audience relevance the effective cost is nearer $75 per relevant impression. For most firms under $10M in revenue, that money does more work in search and intake.
Lead cost by case type
Channel is only half the equation. What you are advertising for moves cost per lead as much as where you advertise.
| Case type | Cost per lead | Why it prices this way | Signed-case media cost at 7% |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical malpractice | $40-$200 | Cheap clicks, brutal qualification, long merit review | $571-$2,857 |
| Dog bite | $80-$200 | Low competition, clear liability, modest case value | $1,143-$2,857 |
| Workers compensation | $75-$550 | Wide range by state and by fee structure | $1,071-$7,857 |
| Auto accident | $300-$1,500 | The most contested category in legal advertising | $4,286-$21,429 |
| Truck accident | $500-$1,500+ | Highest case values, heaviest bidding by national firms | $7,143-$21,429+ |
Source: Rankings.io 2026 for the lead cost column. The right-hand column is our arithmetic at a 7% lead-to-case rate, shown so you can substitute your own rate.
Medical malpractice illustrates the trap perfectly. The leads are among the cheapest in the table, and the qualification rate is among the lowest, because most inquiries fail merit review long before a case exists. A cheap lead in a hard practice area is not a bargain.
How to build a blended CAC model across channels
- Define one denominator. Signed cases, not leads, not consultations. Every channel gets measured against the same unit.
- Decide what goes in the numerator. Media only, media plus agency fees, or fully loaded with intake salaries and software. Pick one, write it down, and use it everywhere. Most published benchmark disputes are just this choice being made differently.
- Attribute at the lead level. Call tracking with dynamic number insertion, unique numbers per channel, and a required source field in the case management system.
- Record the conversion rate per channel, not per account. A blended 9% firm-wide rate hides an LSA channel at 25% and a shared-lead channel at 3%.
- Wait for the lag. Personal injury signs weeks after first contact. Match spend to the month the lead arrived, not the month the case signed, or every channel looks wrong.
- Calculate cost per signed case per channel. Channel spend divided by cases signed from that channel, in the same cohort window.
- Weight by case value. A truck case at $12,000 of acquisition cost may beat a dog bite case at $1,200. Cost per case alone will mislead you if your case mix varies.
- Set a ceiling per channel. Expressed as a percentage of expected fee. High-growth firms spend around 16.5% of revenue on marketing, with 5% to 12% as the practical benchmark (Rankings.io).
- Review quarterly, not monthly. Monthly data in personal injury is mostly noise from small case counts.
Run that model for two quarters and you will usually find one channel quietly subsidizing another, and one channel that looked expensive on lead cost sitting at the bottom of the cost-per-case column.
Where Inovista fits
Inovista builds the tracking that makes this table real for one specific firm, and the website and organic search work underneath it. We do not run paid media or Local Services Ads, which means we have no channel to defend when the arithmetic points elsewhere. If you want a straight read on what the website and organic side of your mix is actually returning, the team behind our personal injury work will build the model with you. Reach us through contact or call (724) 990-0572.
Frequently asked questions
What is the average cost per lead for a personal injury law firm?
It depends entirely on channel. Organic SEO runs $20 to $100, purchased shared leads $50 to $150, Local Services Ads $80 to $250, exclusive and live-transfer leads $250 to $600 or more, and TV, radio and billboard $300 to $1,500 or more (Rankings.io 2026). Across 13 firms and $3.3M of Google Ads and LSA spend, the blended average was $284 per lead.
Which personal injury lead channel has the lowest cost per signed case?
On published figures, Local Services Ads. Personal injury LSA leads average $240 nationally and convert to clients at roughly 25%, producing about $960 per retained case (OptimizeMyFirm). Organic SEO can beat that at the low end of its $20 to $100 range once pages rank, but it carries six to twelve months of investment before the first lead arrives.
Are cheap shared leads worth buying?
Only if your intake can dial within a minute, at all hours. Shared leads convert at 2% to 5% because three to six firms buy the same inquiry. At $100 and a 3% conversion rate, that is $3,333 of media per signed case, which is worse than a $400 live-transfer lead converting at 20% for $2,000. The lead price is not the cost.
What conversion rate should I expect from purchased exclusive leads?
About 20% for exclusive live-transfer leads, against 2% to 5% for shared leads (Rankings.io 2026). At $250 to $600 per lead and a 20% rate, that is $1,250 to $3,000 of media per signed case. Verify exclusivity in the contract, because the word alone carries no guarantee and some vendors resell into adjacent markets.
Why is Google Ads cost per lead so much higher than SEO?
You pay per click in an auction where legal is the most expensive category of 23 industries, at $9.87 average CPC. One 2026 analysis puts Google Ads at $442 per lead against $183 for SEO. Paid search buys speed: leads this week rather than in nine months. SEO amortizes over years, which is why most firms run both.
How do I calculate a blended customer acquisition cost across channels?
Pick one denominator, signed cases, and one numerator definition, either media only or fully loaded. Track lead source at the lead level with call tracking, record conversion rate per channel rather than firm-wide, match spend to the month the lead arrived, then divide channel spend by cases signed from that channel. Weight the result by case value before comparing channels.
What does a personal injury lead cost by case type?
Medical malpractice runs $40 to $200, dog bite $80 to $200, workers compensation $75 to $550, auto accident $300 to $1,500, and truck accident $500 to $1,500 or more (Rankings.io 2026). Cheap categories are usually cheap because qualification is hard. Medical malpractice leads are inexpensive and mostly fail merit review, so the low lead price is misleading.
Is a $468 or a $2,000 to $5,000 cost per signed case the right benchmark?
They measure different things. Rankings.io publishes $468 at a 7% lead-to-case rate from media data, while Mohr Marketing publishes a $2,000 to $5,000 range without a stated methodology. Media-only, media plus agency fees, and fully-loaded costs including intake staff are three separate numbers. Ask which one any benchmark represents before you compare your firm to it.
What should I ask a lead vendor before signing?
Ask whether the lead is contractually exclusive and what you are paid if it is not, the exact traffic source by URL with the ad creative, the documented lead-to-retainer rate for firms your size, how many firms in your metro get the same campaign, the credit policy for unqualified leads, and whether you can test at low volume for 60 days.

CEO · Founder at Inovista — A small, senior crew of strategists, designers and engineers focused entirely on growing law firms online.